Whole Wheat Chocolate Blueberry Cake

Well friends and loyal readers (all two of you) it’s been too long and I have learned that blogging with a newborn is much harder than I originally thought. Currently my little one is happily? swinging in her fisher price swing, but I sence some restlessness coming, so I’ll make this fast. There’s much to be talked about on this blog…being a new mom, healthcare reform and the mid-terms, some movies I’ve seen recently, etc, etc….BUT for now let’s stick with something simple…cake.

While parusing one of my favorite magazines, Better Homes and Gardens (which by the way hales from good-ole Des Moines, IA) over a bowl of morning granola I stumbled across this recipe. Let’s face it, since I’m in love with chocolate and berries of all kinds, I immediately tore it out and made it within the week. You don’t know this, but I’ve been living on post baby left-overs from my mother in law’s visit a month ago and really haven’t cooked anything more than a loaf of banana bread because I had bananas rapidly browning on my counter and one batch of Jumbalaya because I had a sausage link that was nearing expiration (well actually it was one week expired-but who’s counting?). So the fact that I made this cake so quickly indicates my intrigue.

So here it is….and I hope you enjoy it as much as Matt and I have the past day. It’s half-way gone and before I start let me add one thing-it’s only 6 grams of fat per serving! YEA! Guiltless chocolate cake at that-how sublime.

Combine in a mixer:
1 Cup of whole wheat flour
1 Cup of sugar
6 T unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt

Mix in a blender:
1/2 C of blueberried (fresh) I think you could actually use more than this.
1 egg
3/4 C of water

Add the blueberry mixture to the dry mixture and beat until smooth. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Combine in a microwave safe bowl:
1 C of frozen whipped dessert (the recipe calls for lite but uh…that’s no fun)
1/2 C of Semisweet chocolate chips

Melt in the microwave for about a minute and stir until smooth. Pour this mixture over the cooled cake.

In a blender mix:
1/2 C of blueberries
1/2 C of whipped dessert

Garnish your cake with this sauce.

Enjoy along side a huge glass of milk or some black coffee (if that’s how you roll).

Thank you thank you to Dorothy Olsen of Provo, Utah who created this recipe (and won the Better Homes and Garden Annual Recipe Challenge award for the Good and Healthy Category). Your cake is awesome!

4 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Chocolate Blueberry Cake

  1. Kay says:

    For an even healthier (by healthy I mean a whole food rather than a processes one)cake, could you substitute real whipped cream for the Cool Whip? It sounds great. Will have to try!

  2. Anna B. says:

    Yes Kay real whipped cream sounds amazing. That and Matt's suggestion of putting choc. chips in the batter would make it even yummier, albeit no longer low fat, but uh…that's why we work out! :):)

  3. cheesefemme says:

    I never use Cool Whip, and I always have cream around, so I simply melted the chocolate with cream (don’t have to whip it first), and it was awesome. And then for the sauce, I used the cream, blueberries, and added about a fourth cup of powdered sugar. When you mix it in the blender, it whips the cream for you. It was awesome!!

    Kimmie

Leave a Reply

