Orange Cranberry Scones

I’m always on the hunt for good scones and right now I’m currently obsessed with Starbucks’ Cranberry Orange scones, and though maybe I should be staying away from these butter-filled delicacies, I just cannot help myself. They are especially amazing with Starbucks coffee (I sound like a commercial, right?)
Panera bread also has a delicious orange scone sans the cranberries. Say what you will about the blandness of English food,the Brits knew what they were doing when they came up with scones!
Here’s a sort of blended recipe from two different sources. It originally called for Buttermilk, but well, my buttermilk was a day past the sell date and I just don’t know what bad buttermilk smells like, considering good buttermilk doesn’t smell all that great.
                                   
Ingredients                                                                           
3 Cups of self-rising flour
1/2 Cup of sugar
1 Stick of unsalted butter
1/4 Cup of orange juice
1 C of buttermilk
1 C of cranberries
1/2 Cup of powdered sugar
4 teaspoons of Orange Juice
 
Preheat your oven to 400.
Mix the flour and sugar and cut in softened butter. Add dried cranberries or well drained cranberries. Pour the orange juice into the buttermillk (I used 2% milk) and stir into the flour mixture a little bit at a time. This is the part that you’ll have to eyeball depending on the wetness of your berries. As soon as the mixture is sticking together, you’re good.
Turn the mixture onto a well floured surface (I use my pastry cloth) and pat into a circle about 1/2 inch think. Cut into pieces with a pizza cutter, brush the slices with leftover milk/oj mixture, and sprinkle with sugar. Place them on a greased cookie sheet, and bake for 10-15 minutes.
While the scones are baking whisk together the powdered sugar and oj. When they have cooled brush them with this icing and enjoy!
Since I used 2% milk, the scones are yummo but not quite as rich as they would be with whipping cream or buttermilk. I’m anxious to try them that way, too. I imagine these are a little more guilt-free but who cares about that when it comes to scones, right?
If you have other successful scone recipes send them my way, I’d love to try them!
Leave a Reply

