Chewy Chocolates

About a month ago, my afternoon had flown by too fast, and people were coming over for dinner. I needed a quick and easy dessert…Cookies! My go to cookie, the Oatmeal Chocolate Chip (patented in our family by my dad and referred to as Mother Chucks) was a little too complicated for my time frame so I leafed through my grandma-compiled cookbook for something easier. Chewy Chocolate cookies it was.

Though my Dad’s name was listed under these cookies, as well, I had never had them. I whipped ’em up in less than 10 minutes and oh man, even if they had taken 20, they were D-E-L-I-S-H.  Before I go on, let me say a couple things on technique…

Butter v. Crisco

Ok, so we are a Crisco family. Yeah, I said it. At any given time you will ALWAYS find crisco in our cabinets. I use it for every thing: pies, cookies, and brownies. Infact, I was shocked when my girlfriends gasped when I told them how I make brownies, “CRISCO?!?!?!” they said, “We’ll pretend like you didn’t say that!” However, the first time I made these cookies I happened to have a large amount of butter on hand so I thought, “hmmm, might as well try it out.” And I did. The second time I made them (two nights ago) I used my beloved Crisco.

Butter leaves quite a savory buttery taste in your mouth, and let me tell you….it’s great! But the advantages of butter end there. Crisco, was my winner-they were plumper and tasted sweeter. My husband agreed (and he comes from a butter using family). When people complain that their cookies are flat, butter could be the culprit.

The Sifter

If you want to make good cookies, please, for the love, just buy a sifter. They are cheap and they are the difference between good and bad cookies, pastries, and dessert breads (banana specifically). Always sift the dry ingredients into your cookie batter-ALWAYS! It makes a difference and you won’t regret it.

When to take them out

The biggest cookie mistake people make is overbaking. Here’s the rule-when they get slightly golden on the edge and soupy in the middle-take them out. They will continue to bake on the cookie sheet for a few more minutes, making them perfect.

Ingredients

1 1/4 Cup of Butter or Shortening (it’s your choice but you know I’ll judge you if you use butter)
2 Cups of Sugar
2 Eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 Cups Flour
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 Cup cocoa
1/2 tsp Salt
6 oz Choc. chips
1 Cup of nuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350.

1. Cream Shortening and Sugar
2. Add egg and vanilla, blend well.
3. Combine flour, cocoa, salt, and soda.
4. Sift into the dough
5. Stir in nuts and chips.
6. Drop onto greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-9 minutes.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolates

Leave a Reply

