Not your Mama’s BLT

Ever since I was a kid,I’ve been a little obsessed with the sandwich. I mean really, what could be more perfect than great bread, meat, and veggies all in one compact little piece of perfection?

Two Mother’s Days ago, (I know this NOT because I was a mom yet, but because I was on the phone with Bunny, my grandma) I smelled bacon cooking in the kitchen. When I hung up the phone with Bunny I went in there to find Matt making BLT’s for dinner. Now I LOVE setting this man loose in the kitchen. 1. For the MOST part he cleans up after himself (except for little tiny crumbs on the stove top that don’t seem to bother any one in the world but me). 2. He’s a really creative cook. These BLT’s had every veggie from the fridge and some cheese. Cheese on BLT’s?? Yes. And it was goooooood. Needless to say, we have not made a 3 ingredient BLT since.

The other night, Matt wanted them, so I whipped up some creative juices of my own and this is what I came up with…

Ingredients

Sour dough bread

Olive Oil

Garlic Powder

Bacon

Swiss Cheese

Spinach (fresh/organic-I don’t splurge on many organics yet, except for Spinach-it is infinitely tastier than regular bagged spinach and not exorbitantly priced)

Cucumbers

Tomatoes

Mayo

Horseradish Mustard

1. Get that bacon going. As you cook the bacon, slice up enough cucumbers and tomatoes for each sandwich.

2. Brush one side of each slice of bread with a little bit of Olive Oil and sprinkle with some garlic powder. Place Olive Oil down on a skillet. I have one of those flat ones that is good for pancakes or eggs.

3. When one side is toasted, add the Swiss cheese to one slice immediately so it will melt. Smear mayo and mustard on the other slice.

4. Then layer your sandwich with cucumbers, tomatoes, and spinach. 

5. Enjoy!

Last words…I think part of the reason Matt and I particularly enjoyed this sandwich, was because of the bread. If you’ll notice, most restaurants will toast just one side of the bread leaving the outside soft so you can bite into it easily, but the inside a little crunchy. If you do this at home and if you buy some good bread, you’ll have restaurant quality sandwiches almost that effortlessly.  Secondly, using fresh ingredients makes all of the difference. A ripe tomato is worlds better than one that is not. I recently read an article about what foods to refrigerate and what to leave out. Turns out tomatoes get mealy if you refrigerate them. SO, wait until they are ripe on the counter. I bought these at the store when they weren’t quite ripened and then waited-and it was worth it.

How do you make your BLT’s?

3 thoughts on “Not your Mama’s BLT

  1. michelle stibbs says:

    By far my favorite sandwich ever. We have always put on cheese and spinach. We also add avocado (because we add it to everything) I also usually do a couple slices of red onion. Soooo good. Actually been craving these! Great tip about the bread! We have a flat top and I can’t wait to try that.

Leave a Reply

