Balsamic Vinegar Chicken Salad

As I mentioned the other day-Matt and I have been doing the Artisan bread thing lately-which means lots of sandwiches. Once I find a sandwich I like, I can eat 7 days a week. But not Matt, he needs variety. SO, also inspired by our favorite Bakery, I tried my hand at a little copy cat chicken salad.

Let me post this disclaimer-this is not your mama’s chicken salad. We’ve been raving about it to my sister-in-law for ages, and since she was expecting mayo, celery, chicken, and whatever else-she was not impressed. Or rather, she was underwhelmed. This chicken salad is warm and I like to think…Fancy.

I really have no idea how the chefs make it at my favorite restaurant but I know it has these ingredients:

Ingredients:

Shredded chicken (1 or 2 cups)

Sauteed onions (1/2 cup to 1 cup)

Garlic (I probably used about 1 teaspoon for those of you who are measurers)

Balsamic Vinegar (I used 1/3 Cup)

Capers (I used a Tablespoon)

Celery (I forgot to buy this, so mine didn’t have it)

Ingredients I added based on some other recipes I found:

Spicy or Dijon mustard to taste (I probably ended up using 1-2 Tablespoons)

Honey to taste  (maybe 1/2 Tablespoon)

Start by sauteing the onions in Olive oil with the garlic. Add the Shredded Chicken and stir for 5-10 minutes until all of the flavors are merging. For those of you who make jambalaya, it will smell very similar at this point (note to self: make that later in the week). When you feel everything is sufficiently flavorful, add the Balsamic vinegar and let it all simmer for a few minutes.

At this point, I transferred everything to a Pyrex bowl and added the mustard, honey, and capers.

Other recipes I found suggested using more honey, or adding pine nuts or almonds. You could serve this fancy little chicken salad (mixture) over some greens or as a Panini, which is what we did.

While it does not taste exactly like my favorite sandwich (because I’m pretty sure the chefs at said Bakery are geniuses), it’s another sandwich to add to the rotation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

