Americans: I think you may be dumb

Ok, it’s been a long time and I will offer explanation in a future blog…however this one will be short and really I could probably make this subject into a book someday but for now, it’s a short blog post.

Last night while I was lounging around watching DVR’ed episodes of my new favorite show, Chopped, on my new favorite channel, Food Network, since my old favorite channel TLC is now a channel of weirdos, apparently there was a Republican debate.

In said debate, Rick Perry forgot one of the three departments he would want to abolish in an embarrassing display that literally ended with an “oops.” When Perry entered the race months ago, he was easily at the top of all the polls. Why? Because people like his track record in the state of Texas and I’d say he is the most electable Republican. But the world quickly found out that Perry is not a good debater and he has been sinking in the polls ever since. Perhaps last night, the mother of all gaffes has finally hammered the nail into the coffin that is his run for President.

And now I will tell you why I think Americans are DUMB! Every election season, I keep hearing people say, “I’m gonna watch the debates and then decide what I think.” But a politician’s skills as an orator are not necessarily indicative of their skills as a leader. Similarly, (as in the case of Howard Dean), coolness (as in being cool) is not indicative of whether one can be a good President. That guy was ahead in Democratic polls in 2004 until he got so excited he screamed into the mic, killing his run. Come on people, we all watched The King’s Speech last year. How quickly and succinctly someone can form their thoughts or deliver them should not affect our choice for President. Americans are dumb because rather than reading about the candidates, what they’ve done, what they’ve written, and how their constituents feel about them, we base our decisions on how cool they are, how they sound and give speeches, and how many celebrities think they are cool.

Anyone can be a gifted orator or debater-they are often former Theatre majors and Communications Majors (I was one and I have no business running our country-nor do most of my friends-no offense, guys). Not everyone can lead a country. “Doing our homework” before we vote means doing our homework. And it doesn’t mean watching a debate and reading your friends posts on Twitter and Facebook. It doesn’t mean believing empty campaign promises written by gifted speech writers. It means careful research and consideration. It means looking a track records and influences and associates. It means USING YOUR MIND to make wise, thoughtful, and intelligent decisions before you vote.

***This has been an equal opportunity blog post meant for anyone of any party affiliation.

7 thoughts on “Americans: I think you may be dumb

  1. Nate says:

    Very true! For any of you wondering, a great source (non-partisan) of info about candidates and their beliefs/records can be found at your local chapter of League of Women Voters: http://www.LMW.org

    On an unrelated note, kind of, Sarah and I were having a conversation the other day about how our country is increasingly becoming more stupid because (now at 7 billion people!) the smart people aren’t having as many kids, but the stupid people are “gettin er done”. Yikes! Watch out world…

    • Sarah! says:

      Oh Nate! Tellin’ the world about our convo. haha.
      Yes, Anna, very true. The other thing that bothers me is that people vote based on what friends and family think or biased TV shows. Everyone should make the decision for themselves, try to find the real facts, and don’t let anyone else influence them!
      Trouble is, most people don’t. 😦

  2. Jeff Finn says:

    I love your main point. People should do their research and there is a lot more to governing than good speaking skills. But I don’t know of a better way to gauge someone’s intelligence than a debate and I think it is fair to not vote for someone who continually makes mistakes like Perry does.

    • Anna B. says:

      I’m certainly not on the Perry bandwagon (nor was I a Dean fan in 2004), and he may not be up for the job (or he may). However, I think there is a lot more to measure intelligence than just debates. Similarly, there is more to intelligence than test scores. All I’m saying is, being able to form words quickly in an unnatural setting is not enough to make me respect someone or vote for them. Yes, watch debates, but I feel like they should be a fraction of reason we vote for people. (Ah-this reminds me of our many debates on politics and religion while working in the box office-good times).

Leave a Reply

