A Lovely Mess

I love being in my thirties. I mean…really love it. I can no longer wear high heels everyday because of a bunion on my left foot. I’ve got a crazy case of TMJ. And every once in a while, I still get a zit on my chin. What gives? But here’s the deal….I love my thirties, because it took me this long  to be ok with me. To be able to say these things and not be embarrassed:

-I’m super high strung and a little OCD-especially regarding crumbs and/or water puddles on my kitchen counter.

-I’m emotional. Really…emotional. I blame my artistic flare or maybe my DNA.

-I’m a total hypochondriac. I mean, I think have cancer…or my new favorite, heart attacks, monthly (this is down from weekly in my 20s-progress).

-I’m a overreactor. I’m that girl who gasps unnecessarily. I am. I’ve tried to change this in myself, but have been, by in large, unsuccessful. It is what it is.

-Try as I might, I just can’t ever shut up.

I could go on and on…but I’ll spare you the gory details.

I have good qualities, too, which I like, and hope others do, too. But this post is not about those…nor will any future post ever be.

The thing about my thirties is this, I’m ok with all of it, the good and the bad, because I finally realize that life is work and sometimes it’s beautiful and sometimes it’s MESSY!

So while everyone is posting their lovely Thanksgiving Day shots and pinning things on Pinterest, or feeling guilty because they just can’t measure up… I wanted to post what my day looked like..

DSC_0059

I bake with Crisco a lot. And people think it’s gross and call it lard (let’s just take note of the word ‘vegetable’ on the box, which means, it’s actually not lard)…but it makes really good bread and cookies and pies and pastries. I’m not ashamed to tell you…this baby got used a lot for Thanksgiving. Take that, Dairy industry!

DSC_0014

My kitchen was a disaster yesterday, sippy cups and pop tart crumbs and flour, everywhere.

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

DSC_0072

My little girls watched more videos that I’m willing to admit, while I baked and cooked and baked again.

DSC_0093

DSC_0095

Our name plates were crookedly cut and water colored by my three year old. Our napkin rings were cut up pre-baby way toooo small tee-shirt. Nothing from Pinterest, and nothing that will ever be on Pinterest.

DSC_0100

I used lovely flowers left over from a Kroger trip TWO weeks ago and vases purchased for my little sister’s wedding last year. And my family ALL showed up early, when they are never early and I was still in my PJ’s and nothing looked presentable yet.

DSC_0145

And we cooked and washed dishes and ate and laughed and my father in law brought a Dairy Queen ice cream cake because he had a coupon, and my eldest sat at the table with a blanket over her head, and it wasn’t perfect, but it was lovely.

And I cannot imagine dinner would have been as tasty, had a mess not been made.

I say all of this to say…I hope in this Holiday season that you and I, dear friend, can just soak up the mess that is life…and try to bask in the beauty of ALL of it. To take off our masks, because life is not Pinterest or Southern living. I have found over and over again that often it is our flaws that make us into better people. It is our shortcomings that make us strong. It’s the flour all over the kitchen counter and floor and the smiles on little faces, happy to dump ingredients into a bowl that make life special. It’s our scars that make us unique and give us a story to tell and one to listen to in someone else. It is our transparency that draws us into community and allows us to see the face of God.

That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong2 Corinthians 12:10

4 thoughts on “A Lovely Mess

  1. Penny says:

    I have never thought life was Southern Living (or Pinterest). I don’t know anyone whose house looks like Southern Living. I don’t even try to decorate the table. I put the food on the table, plates, utensils, and a napkin. Then we eat. My son ate off of a $1 aluminum pan because he said it was bigger than our plates. You are far ahead of me. It took me til my 40’s to be comfortable with myself and admit my flaws (granted I had someone else reminding me of them daily in my 20’s and 30’s). I enjoyed my 30’s because of my kids but in my 40’s I am learning to rest, rest in my Savior!

  2. Karen Wade says:

    Enjoy, enjoy each decade has its pluses, and you will miss them when you reach the next decade, but also you will be able to say whew I don’t know how I made it through some of that. But with God everything is possible!! Keep writing and the photos are great too…like your dad! ; )

Leave a Reply

