Sunday Morning Prayer

I often experience early morning insomnia. When it happens as early as 2am, I count the hours until morning, rueing my impending exhaustion. But when the day comes early for me at 4 or 5, I call it a night and brew some coffee, grateful for a chance to enjoy the quiet and the Beagle.

This morning as I was praying, I was thinking about my eldest and the fact that often, I’m just at a loss. Cut exactly from my mold, I somehow have no idea how to relate to the 4 year old version of me. Her emotions swing and flare and spike. Yet in the next moment, she is tender and kind and funny. I scribbled the words in my prayer journal, “I need you desperately.”  Then I crossed them out, “I need you every hour.”

And because I’m a product of the South, the words of that old hymn flooded my mind, I need thee, oh I need thee, every hour I need thee.

But because I am not proficient in the lyric arena (as all my friends know), I had to look up the rest. And what I found brought me to tears. The writer of this song was a wife and mother about my age, in the 1800s.

This is what she said:

“One day as a young wife and mother of 37 years of age, I was busy with my regular household tasks during a bright June morning, in 1872. Suddenly, I became filled with the sense of nearness to the Master, and I began to wonder how anyone could ever live without Him, either in joy or in pain. Then the words were ushered into my mind and these thoughts took full possession of me–“I need Thee every hour . . .”

The human condition has always been the same. I need my Savior every day, every hour, every moment. This morning I’m grateful for a mother just like me, who penned these words almost 150 years ago and a Savior who is always present in my joy and pain and need.

Leave a Reply

